Minutes

COUNCIL

3 April 2014



Meeting held at Council Chamber - Civic Centre, High Street, Uxbridge UB8 1UW

Councillor Catherine Dann (Deputy Mayor)

Councillor Gatherine Barin (Beputy Mayor)				
	MEMBERS	PRESENT:		
	_	PRESENT: Lynne Allen Richard Barnes Josephine Barrett Jonathan Bianco Lindsay Bliss Sukhpal Brar Wayne Bridges Mike Bull Keith Burrows George Cooper Judith Cooper Philip Corthorne Brian Crowe Peter Curling Jazz Dhillon Janet Duncan Beulah East Neil Fyfe Roshan Ghei	Dominic Gilham Raymond Graham Paul Harmsworth Shirley Harper-O'Neill John Hensley Henry Higgins Patricia Jackson Phoday Jarjussey Sandra Jenkins Judy Kelly Mo Khursheed Kuldeep Lakhmana Eddie Lavery Richard Lewis Anita MacDonald John Major Michael Markham Carol Melvin Douglas Mills	Richard Mills John Morgan June Nelson Susan O'Brien Mary O'Connor David Payne Ray Puddifoot Andrew Retter John Riley David Routledge Avtar Sandhu Robin Sansarpuri Scott Seaman-Digby David Simmonds Brian Stead Michael White David Yarrow
	OFFICERS PRESENT: Fran Beasley, Merlin Joseph, Tony Zaman, Lloyd White Nikki O'Halloran			
50.	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Agenda Item 1) Apologies for absence were received from The Mayor (Councillor Kauffman) and Councillors Allam, Baker, Barker, Benson, Gardner, Garg and Kemp.			
51.	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Agenda Item 2)			
	Councillors Barrett, Harmsworth, Harper-O'Neill, Major, Payne and Routledge declared non-pecuniary interests in Item 3 - Motions, as they were being granted Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Hillingdon, and remained in the room during the consideration thereof.			
	Councillor Duncan declared a non-pecuniary interest in Item 3 - Motions, as Councillor Harmsworth was being granted Honorary Freedom of the London Borough			

of Hillingdon, and remained in the room during the consideration thereof.

52. MOTIONS (Agenda Item 3)

Councillor O'Brien moved, and Councillor G Cooper seconded, the suspension of Council procedure rules 14.4 to allow unlimited speaking time for the mover of the motion and 14.6 with the effect that no amendments to the motion may be moved.

The Deputy Mayor advised that, due to time constraints, she would only permit the mover and seconders of the motion to speak on this item.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 12, Councillor Puddifoot moved the following motion:

"That, under the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the following persons be granted Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Hillingdon, being the highest distinction in the power of the Council to bestow and that those persons so named be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Freemen of the Borough:

- Josephine Mary Barrett of Uxbridge Road, Hillingdon, in recognition of her outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- Paul Kenneth Harmsworth of Montague Road, Uxbridge, in recognition of his
 outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as
 an elected Member of the Borough.
- Shirley Ann Harper-O'Neill of Crosier Way, Ruislip, in recognition of her outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- John Robert Major of Kingshill Avenue, Hayes, in recognition of his outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- Edna Felicity Partridge of Bury Lane, Rickmansworth, in recognition of her outstanding public service as Representative Deputy Lieutenant representing her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II within the London Borough of Hillingdon.
- David William Payne of Barnhill, Pinner, in recognition of his outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- Jill Rhodes of The Close, Court Drive, Hillingdon, in recognition of her outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- David Walton Routledge of Belmont Road, Uxbridge, in recognition of his outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough."

The motion was seconded by:

- Councillor Simmonds (for Josephine Mary Barrett).
- Councillor Duncan (for Paul Kenneth Harmsworth).
- Councillor Yarrow (for Shirley Ann Harper-O'Neill).
- Councillor Curling (for John Robert Major).
- Councillor Markham (for Edna Felicity Partridge).
- The Deputy Mayor (for David William Payne).
- Councillor Corthorne (for Jill Rhodes).
- Councillor Seaman-Digby (for David Walton Routledge).

RESOLVED: That, under the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local

Government Act 1972, the following persons be granted Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Hillingdon, being the highest distinction in the power of the Council to bestow and that those persons so named be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Freemen of the Borough:

- Josephine Mary Barrett of Uxbridge Road, Hillingdon, in recognition of her outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- Paul Kenneth Harmsworth of Montague Road, Uxbridge, in recognition of his outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- Shirley Ann Harper-O'Neill of Crosier Way, Ruislip, in recognition of her outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- John Robert Major of Kingshill Avenue, Hayes, in recognition of his outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- Edna Felicity Partridge of Bury Lane, Rickmansworth, in recognition of her outstanding public service as Representative Deputy Lieutenant representing her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II within the London Borough of Hillingdon.
- David William Payne of Barnhill, Pinner, in recognition of his outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- Jill Rhodes of The Close, Court Drive, Hillingdon, in recognition of her outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.
- David Walton Routledge of Belmont Road, Uxbridge, in recognition of his outstanding service to the people of Hillingdon and contribution to public life as an elected Member of the Borough.

The meeting, which commenced at 6.00 pm, closed at 6.55 pm.

These are the minutes of the above meeting. For more information on any of the resolutions please contact Lloyd White, Head of Democratic Services on 01895 556743. Circulation of these minutes is to Councillors, Officers, the Press and Members of the Public.

